Words to my Darling Jean

Artist Rob Hefferan; photo: pinterest.com

Artist Rob Hefferan; photo: pinterest.com

Romantic Flash Fiction 13:

Long after the sun had bid us adieu, we strolled along the city streets hand in hand, watching our reflections in the store windows as we passed. A subtle warmth in the air blanketed the city and rested upon us as I leaned in close to him, and I inhaled the gentle aroma of his subtle citrus cologne. With his arm around my waist, we walked at a snail’s pace, listening to the clack of our shoes on the sidewalk, observing the shopkeepers closing up for the night, and admiring the quiet that surrounded us. The streetlights glowed in spheres of light and at that moment, I knew that there was nowhere else on earth I would have rather been.

We arrived back at his car and he put the top down. Neither one of us was in a hurry to leave. When I sat in the passenger’s seat, I adjusted it to lean back all the way. He turned to me and beheld me with soft blue eyes, the kind that drew me in like watching the waves of the sea. The moonlight accentuated his jaw line and rugged cheekbones in light and shadow, and as his eyes soaked me in, I could feel my heart racing, churning feelings through every fiber of my skin of sensuality and desire. Tonight I could find my serenity in those eyes, his hair, his smile. I could almost sense his love for me as a palpable thing, reaching right through me, touching my soul.

Yet my mind returned to the words that he had shared with me less than an hour ago, words that had taken my breath away.

“What you told me back there at the theater,” I said, my voice a whisper in the dark, amplified on the empty street. “Did you mean it?”

“Every word,” he replied.

A stinging memory stealthily slithered back to my mind like a shark in shallow waters. Words so uncaring, heartless, cutting. The worst part was that they were from someone I had once loved deeply. Funny how the deeper we love, the deeper we can be cut.

“It’s just that,” I began, placing my words carefully, “no one’s ever spoken to me like that before. The way you did. The words you said. I could feel my heart returning to a place long forgotten since childhood, a place where I felt truly loved, safe and rested in someone’s caring arms. Yet you hadn’t even touched me. They were just words.”

He leaned back and slid his arm tenderly around me. He looked dashing in the suit and tie that he’d worn to the theater and I just wanted to lose myself in it, in him, for a long while.

“Words to fill you with joy. Words to say I love you,” he finally said.

I turned my eyes to him, a tear forming over one, as he mouthed the three most beautiful words that he had poetically described earlier. “Don’t say that if you don’t mean it,” I said, shaking my head, a tremor of fear tearing through my heart.

“Marry me,” he said boldly. “Then you’ll know how serious I am.”

For what felt like an eternity, I felt like I was held prisoner in a kind of spell of disbelief. “You… we…”

“Marry me,” he said a second time.

Instead of answering, I wrapped one hand around his neck and held the back of his head as our mouths met. My lips molded into his, our hearts intertwining. Our kiss was long and slow, a tender dance of mouths and tongues that knew just when to press and when to release, opening a portal to a dimension of love that we never knew existed before this night.

When our mouths finally separated, I rested my head on his shoulder, letting him hold me, and simply smiled. Time seemed to stand still as I watched the moon beam down on us like a spotlight. I drew his hand to my chest and let it rest there. With one simple kiss, I knew that my life – our lives – were about to change forever.

9 thoughts on “Words to my Darling Jean

  1. Dave, how do you tap into my heart so fast and easy? I swear I aspire to live the romantic world that you write. Especially here it’s like you have written my actually dream, having someone take me to the theatre or cinema, expressing their love for me, and asking me to marry them, that’s something that I want. I felt every emotion in this piece. Those emotions led to me falling in love with this one. I love it, Dave. A lot.

    And do you have a published book?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Samantha… your comments always warm my heart so much, I can truly tell you. To tap into the heart and describe a romantic dream is one of the primary goals of my writing. I wish this dream for you personally to come true and that you would have all that you desire in your romantic fantasy. Yes, I do have a novel. The link to my Amazon author page is here – you can find my bio and my book there. https://www.amazon.com/Dave-Goodlove/e/B018M8Y0K2/
      I’m grateful for your interest, and as always, I love your comments!! They always make my day! Thanks a million! 🙂

      Like

  2. The sweetest most beautiful story. What a loving romantic piece. I am truly a romantic at heart. And I adore these pieces.

    Sweet as honey
    Gentle as rose petals
    Beautiful as the horizon
    Wonderful and pure
    Each word is felt
    Moments are detailed
    It’s art created by a true artist

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

