Take Me Away

Artist Mabel Rollins Harris; photo: pinterest

Artist Mabel Rollins Harris; photo: pinterest

Romantic Flash Fiction 20:

For years Forsythia had only dreamed of the ocean. Its magnificence in splendor, its waves crashing upon rocky shores, its delicate whisper as foamy waves crawled eagerly upon a sandy beach.

In her dream, she was always naked, stripped of everything that held her down, or held her back. All burdens she had removed at the beach – bags and boxes of things that distracted her from life, the stuff that she knew she really didn’t need and never satisfied. There were things that hurt like heartache and loss, things that stung like past failures, things like broken promises, and things hard to forgive and forget. All of it, every single piece of luggage that weighed her down like an overloaded flight on a two-passenger jetliner. She discarded it on the shore. Littered. Tossed it amuck.

Then she was free.

In the salt water, the waves tickled her legs as she walked out a ways and gazed up at the sky. The sun was strong on her bare skin, her breasts perky and saluting the ultra-violet rays. She smiled at the day. Clouds trimmed the horizon and clear sapphire painted an otherwise cloudy sky.

Therefore, it was no wonder that she would ask him with all of her heart, “Take me away! I want to see the ocean.”

Wanting more than anything to love her and show her that love in action, Davey brought her out to a secluded cove that weekend. The seagulls welcomed them with their squawks, and the waves rolled reverently upon the sandy shore. Upon gazing at the ocean, she cried, tears staining her rosy cheeks. “It’s everything I’ve ever known it would be.”

Together they waded in knee-deep ocean water, both naked, both alive for the first time in their lives. In the seclusion of the cove, they made love on the beach that day, taking each other to heights of pleasure and delight. Then they kissed long and deep and slow, enjoying each other’s company, basking in the sun and the tranquility of the beach.

As they lay beside each other on a beach towel later that afternoon, Forsythia nestled in his protective arms and sighed contentedly.

“Forsythia,” whispered Davey gently in her ear, “is the ocean everything you’d ever hoped it would be?”

She closed her eyes and for a silent moment pondered the question. The waves rolled in from the water’s edge and tickled her toes as she pulled her windswept hair back. Was it everything she’d ever dreamed of?

“Only one thing was missing from my dream,” she replied, turning her face to his and gazing deeply into his eyes. A wave crashed upon the beach behind them, but they paid it no attention. “You are the best part of my life,” she said softly. “If I could visit a thousand beaches and swim with the dolphins in open waters at every one, it wouldn’t compare to being here with you.”

“I love you, Forsythia,” he said, his hand tenderly sliding loose strands of her hair away from her face. “I was hoping you’d say that.”

10 thoughts on “Take Me Away

  1. This one is a lovely.
    “In her dream, she was always naked, stripped of everything that held her down, or held her back. All burdens she had removed at the beach.”
    This part says alot, I love the water the beach a river. It all does make with everything dissappear. And being in the ocean or near the ocean with someone you love is even more wondrous.
    I think we all in some way dream of these moments. To experience love in its greatest depth of passion. To be able to give love so deeply without holding back. To receive love that is deep and true.
    Your stories express love so greatly. Well done sweetie pie

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree. We all dream of these moments. I always want to describe a scene in nature. It’s more romantic and takes the reader right there. I also want the reader to experience more than just escapism, but also a thought for a deeper meaning. Thank you again, Monique! 🙂 I greatly treasure your comments! Have sweet dreams.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmmmm making love at the beach; something I wish to do.

    I have never been to the beach, when I did the water was far far away and it was the worst. I want to go though and in my dream, I will go with the man I love. Forsythia and I have the same dream.

    It’s beautifully strange that everything you write links to my wishes. It makes my heart beat so fast with so much love and for once I have hope that it’s possible to find love.

    And your writing gives me that hope Davey, thank you for writing such beauty. I fall in love with your writing every time.
    Damn you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saam… thank you so much!! It is a joy for me to link each story to your desires, and to give you that hope that you search for is a dream of mine, too. I long to touch my reader’s heart and impart a piece of that hope embedded in these stories. You know, Saam, it is possible. It truly is. So keep that hope alive, and if the flame of it ever flickers, I hope you’ll come back and re-read it again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well you always touch my heart Davey. Especially today, I re read this again before I replied because today I saw that guy that I like and today it didn’t feel the same. It was painful because a part of me told me I would never be with him. I don’t know why. I am happy you write such romance, it helps heal some of our Pains because you give me hope.

        And I believe you Davey, loving one person is possible. And I will try to stay positive and never give up 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sorry to hear about that guy you like. It is hard to let go of the ones we like when we sense they may not be right for us. I wish you “the dream” Saam. Keep it in your heart. You truly deserve it. 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

